Difference CSM PSM Certification

The Scrum Alliance awards the CSMTM accreditation. CSM is the first (entry-level) Scrum Master credential. PSM is the abbreviation for Professional Scrum Master. Scrum.org awards the PSMTM certification. CSMTM and PSMTM are the Scrum Master's entry-level credentials. Most IT-related firms and businesses want to recruit people who are familiar with the Scrum framework and tools.

Main Differences Between CSM & PSM Certification

  • Passing Rank

    This is a significant distinction to consider when comparing PSM to CSM. To pass the CSM certification exam, you must score at least 69 percent or provide 24 right answers out of 35 questions. To pass the PSM certification exam, you must score at least 85 percent. As a result, the Certified Scrum Master (CSM) credential has a lower cut-off than the Professional Scrum Master (PSM) certification.

  • Exam Structure

    The exam pattern differs significantly between PSM and CSM. While the CSM only includes multiple-choice questions, the PSM certification exam may include multiple-choice questions, multiple-answer questions, true/false type questions, and essay-type questions.

  • Level of Examination

    The PSM certification exam is substantially more difficult than the CSM certification exam. After two days of instruction, you will be able to take the CSM exam. PSM-I does not require any training if you have extensive experience using Scrum. Furthermore, PSM-II and PSM-III exams are substantially more difficult than PSM-I and require a few years of Scrum Methodology expertise to be able to pass these exams.

  • Renewal is Required

    The requirement for renewal is the most important factor to be considered while choosing between PSM and CSM. The CSM certification is only valid for two years. This certification must be renewed every two years for a fee of $100. The renewal price may also fluctuate depending on the school you choose for the CSM certification exam. Once you have completed the certification exam, there is no need to renew your PSM certification. The PSM certification is valid for life and does not need to be renewed.

  • Certification Obtained

    Another thing that distinguishes PSM from CSM certification is the method of accomplishment. CSM certification can be obtained by attendance, that is, by attending two days of training at a certified institute of one's choice. The acquisition of PSM certification is accomplished through exams rather than attendance. To become a Professional Scrum Master, you must complete assessments/exams at each level of the PSM certification.

  • Exam Content Dependability

    There are several institutes that provide CSM certification training. As a result, the training curriculum may differ from one institute to the next, and from one trainer to the next, making the content inconsistent and hence not so trustworthy. In the case of PSM certification, there is just one organization that administers the certification exams. As a result, the exam substance stays similar; only the trainers' perceptions may differ. The PSM exam content is deemed extremely dependable due to its consistency, however, CSM is not.

  • Training Duration

    Both the CSM and PSM training sessions last two days (14 to 16 hours). A Certified Scrum Trainer (CST) leads the CSM course, whereas a Professional Scrum Trainer leads the PSM course (PST).

Exam Difficulty Level

The Certified ScrumMaster exam is simpler than PSM 1 and PSM 2 exams. Attending a two-day course is required before taking the CSM, and you will be fully prepared to appear for the exam and get a passing score. However, PSM does not make attendance at training workshops mandatory, and many students who have not attended a training workshop discover that their preparation is inadequate.


There is no set cost for the CSM exam because it is usually combined with the course. However, the course fees normally varies from 1000 to 1400 USD. The PSM exam costs $150 USD on each try. If you sign up for a training course, your first exam attempt is free.


To summarise, both the PSM and CSM certifications are ideal for Scrum Masters. Both qualifications are significant in their own right. According to the distinctions listed above, CSM appears as a better choice than PSM, yet its antiquity makes it equivalent to PSM. However, if you are deciding between PSM and CSM, features such as no renewal, dependability, and pricing make PSM the superior alternative. After completing the PSM exam, you will be acknowledged as a qualified Professional Scrum Master.

About Author