Get Your Disciplined Agile Certifications

The Disciplined Agile (DA) process-decision toolkit provides simple guidance to assist individuals, teams, and organizations in streamlining their processes in a context-sensitive manner, laying the groundwork for business agility. This is accomplished by demonstrating how various activities such as Solution Delivery (software development), IT Operations, Enterprise Architecture, Portfolio Management, Security, Finance, Procurement, and others interact with one another. DA also describes what these activities should address, a variety of options for doing so, and the tradeoffs associated with each option.


Agile Disciplined Certifications

  • Disciplined Agilist (DA) - Take a DA class to get this one.
  • Certified Disciplined Agilist (CDA) - To obtain this level, take the DA class and pass the assessment.
  • Certified Disciplined Agile Practitioner (CDAP) - First earn your CDA, and then apply for your CDAP if you have your PMI-ACP (or 2 years of experience).
  • Disciplined Agile Lean Scrum Master (DALSM) - After earning your CDA and gaining two years of experience in a leadership role, you can apply for your DALSM.


How to Obtain the DASM Certification?

With PMI's Disciplined Agile certifications, you can get on with the current best practices in Disciplined Agile and strengthen your knowledge and practice of the processes and concepts. With the DASM certification, you can validate your expertise as a Scrum professional and take advantage of networking opportunities with the best in the industry. Don't know where to begin with your DASM certification? Simply follow these easy steps.

  1. Become educated.
  2. Take the DASM examination: Schedule your certification exam at a Pearson VUE test center or online using the eligibility code you received from PMI after completing the training. Take the 90-minute closed-book multi-choice exam and score at least 70%. (35 out of 50 questions right).

  3. Train to be a DASM: If you pass the exam, you will be designated as a Disciplined Agile Scrum Master.



  • Attending the training requires no prior Agile experience.
  • To be eligible for the DASM exam, you must first complete a two-day training course with an authorized Disciplined Agile partner.


Who should take the DASM certification course?

  • Anyone who is familiar with the fundamentals of Agile and Lean.
  • Anyone interested in learning Agile methodologies.
  • Those with Agile experience who want to advance their careers.
  • Anyone interested in pursuing a career in Agile.
  • Any stakeholder who interacts with Agile projects in their workplace.


The DASM certification will give you the following skills:

  • Develop a Disciplined Agile Mindset.
  • Adopt DA principles such as pragmatism, choice, and context adaptation.
  • Use Agile and Lean methodologies effectively.
  • Use the Disciplined Agile toolkit in the context of the team.
  • Create the most effective working method (WoW) for you and your Agile team.
  • Facilitation abilities.



The DA toolkit has some worth and will be useful to agile practitioners. It is comprehensive and could be useful, particularly for those who are new to agile methods of working. The DA approach will benefit PMO leaders in particular. I believe the value is in providing a breadth of coverage as well as serving as a reminder or checklist of things to consider at various stages. It contains many good practices as well as guidance on where to apply them.

Certifications, like other areas of the toolkit, require refactoring. One is more of membership, one requires an exam, and the remaining two are based on either holding another PMI certification or having demonstrable experience. Some cleaning is to be expected.

With PMI support and backing, all of that could change. Even without the assistance of PMI, pursuing certifications, training courses, and understanding and accessibility of a decision framework may be very beneficial to aspiring agile practitioners.

About Author
Shivam J