PMP Certification Renewal

While PMP certification renewal is a PMI requirement, it is also a great chance to network and share your PMP skills.PMP certification renewal does not need retaking the PMP test. Instead, by engaging in professional development programmes, you can keep up with industry developments and best practices.

PMI believes in continual progress, particularly for individuals who have earned the globally recognised PMP certification. As a result, in order to keep your PMP certificate in good standing with PMI, you must renew your certification every three years.


PMP Certification Renewal Procedure

1. The PMP Certification is valid for three years from the day you completed the PMP test and received your certification.

If the three-year time expires without renewal, your certification status will be changed to suspended.

If you do not complete the one-year suspension period, your status will be changed to expired. This is as near the end of the world as any qualified PMP practitioner can get. When this happens, even a thousand PDUs become meaningless.

2. Understand the current status of your PMP certification and PDUs.

It is critical that you use the Continuing Certification Requirements System to keep your PMP certification and PDUs up to date (CCRS). The CCRS is a web-based solution that provides an easy-to-use dashboard for monitoring the following:

  • The number of days until your PMP expiration date.
  • How do your PDUs meet CCR criteria?

  • The remaining PDUs need to renew your certification.


3. You must have 60 PDUs to renew your PMP certification.

i) Education - You must have at least 35 PDUs, for this category.

ii) Giving back to the profession - This is optional, and you can earn up to 25 PDUs in this area.


4. Always keep your CCRS progress up to date by submitting all of your PDU claims for validation.

After earning 60 PDUs, you will be alerted and prompted to submit a renewal application and pay a renewal fee:

  • PMI members pay $60.
  • Non-members pay $150.

5. If your PMP certification is renewed, you will be able to use the coveted and in-demand credential for another three years.

What is Professional Development Unit?

A PDU, or Professional Development Unit, is a metric used to track continuing professional development in the field of project management. To preserve your Project Management Professional (PMP) certification, you must earn a set number of PDUs by attending events or taking courses. 60 PDUs are required throughout the course of three years.


Send Your PDUs to CCRS

The online system walks you through the steps:

  • Log in to your CCRS dashboard to check the status of all your submitted PDUs.
  • On your dashboard, click "Report PDUs."
  • From the dropdown menu, select the PDU category.
  • To describe the professional development activity, fill in the necessary form areas. This stage allows PMI to assess your activity and confirm its legitimacy.
  • Enter the quantity and kind of PDUs you want to claim for this activity.
  • Check on "I agree to the assertion."
  • Click on the "Submit" button.

PMI will give you two follow-up emails: the first will confirm that your PDU claim is being reviewed, and the second will notify you whether your PDUs were authorised and added to your account or refused.


PMP Certification Renewal: Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

  • Is the process for renewing an expired PMP Certification unique?

    Yes. If your PMP certification is suspended and you do not renew it within a year, your certification will expire completely. To reactivate your PMP certification after it has expired, you must reapply for the PMP test, pay all related costs, and pass the PMP exam once again.
  • What if I obtain more than 60 PDUs?

    Up to 20 PDUs earned in the previous twelve months of your CCR cycle can be transferred to the next CCR cycle. Remember that investing in your professional growth is never a waste of time, even if it does not contribute to certification renewal!
About Author
Shivam J