Things You Must Know About Lean Six Sigma Certification Levels

To build a substantial position in this competitive market, companies are hiring people who have the right knowledge and right certification that will help the organization to achieve their goals and objectives in an efficient manner. For this, the companies are looking for professionals who are Lean Six Sigma certified professionals. Lean Six Sigma certified professionals have a complete knowledge of the business processes and have the knowledge to design and develop business processes which will reduce the wastage caused during the production process and which will in-turn reduce the production overheads.

By hiring Lean Six Sigma certified professionals organizations do not have to spend additional monetary resources for designing and developing lean six sigma strategies to minimize overhead costs. Additionally, an experienced Lean Six Sigma professional can provide training to their peers or team members, and educate them about Lean Six Sigma methodologies. 

This would be an added advantage to the organization if they hire a Lean Six Sigma certified professional. In this article, you will come across various Lean Six Sigma certifications available in the market and how it is useful for professionals.
The Lean Six Sigma credential is also useful for the professionals as this certificate is highly regarded by most of the top organizations across the globe. By obtaining this Lean Six Sigma credential, they will have an edge over their peers and colleagues and there is a possibility to gain first preference by the organization when it comes to promotion.

Six Sigma Certification Levels

Six Sigma certification is divided into four different levels. These levels are referred as “belts”, and these belts are awarded to the individuals in a hierarchical format. Beginning with Yellow Belt certification, an individual can move to higher certification levels such as a green belt, black belt, and master black belt certification level.

Yellow Belt Certificate:

This is the first stage of four Six Sigma certification levels. This certification is suitable for beginners. In this level, they will gain a complete understanding about Six Sigma basics and also acquire knowledge about various tools and techniques. They will also gain knowledge about the DMAIC (Define, Measure, Analyze, Improve, Control) methods. 

Green Belt Certificate:

In this level, the professionals will gain knowledge about Six Sigma principles and how to apply them to work environment.

Black Belt Certificate:

Professionals holding this certificate are usually placed in the managerial levels. Black belt certified professionals will have an in-depth knowledge about Six Sigma principles and methodologies. Professionals who already hold Green Belt certificate are eligible for taking up Black Belt certification. They can opt for Black Belt certificate if they are confident about all Six Sigma principles and methods and have gained knowledge and experience in implementing the Six Sigma principles within their organization.

In this level, the professionals will learn how to use logistic regression analysis, hypothesis testing and also gain the ability to design and deploy various Six Sigma strategies. In this level, the professionals gain a complete understanding of how to implement  developed strategies using Six Sigma Black Belt methods and techniques, which would result in minimizing operation costs. 

Master Black Belt:

This is the highest level in the Six Sigma certification. Professionals with Black Belt certification are eligible for Master Black Belt certificate. Master Black Belt certificate holders are also known as champions, and these champions also act mentors to Black Belt professionals. 

Lean Certification Levels

When we talk about Lean certification, this certification is awarded after obtaining training on various principles and applications of the Lean system of management. Lean management focuses on a set of tools and processes for eliminating waste in the production process. Lean certification primarily focuses on customer service, the development and maintenance of systems and providing value to customers.

Lean certification programs are divided into three levels and each level refers to increased knowledge and experience in the application of the Lean principles of management. The levels are referred to as bronze, silver, and gold levels. Each level confirms that the credential holder has gained proficiency tools and techniques of Lean management system.


To obtain these certifications, individuals must hold work experience. By obtaining Lean and Six Sigma certifications professionals gain access to lucrative and rewarding career. 

Click Here for Lean Six Sigma Course

About Author
Suha Emma