ITIL Service Design Processes

Service Design phase aims at designing and developing an IT service no matter if the design is for new or already existing service.
Key Processes of Service Design are :
  • Service Catalogue Management
  • Service Level Management
  • Capacity Management 
  • Availability Management
  • IT Service Continuity Management
  • Information Security Management
  • Supplier Management
Strategy Catalogue Management (SCM):
It maintains a service catalog that lists all the services. It defines what all services an organization has, who owns them, why are they required and what value it will add to the customer. The primary objective of SCM is:
       • To ensure that the agreed services are well defined, documented & reliable
       • To create and maintain service catalog in conjunction with service portfolio
       • Work with IT service continuity management and the customer to make sure that the business requirement supported by the IT service is defined in service catalog
Service Level Management:
Service level management team focuses on gathering business requirement and then defines, negotiate and agree upon the IT services that an organization can deliver after discussing it with the business. The objective of negotiation is to control and monitor the Service Level Agreement (SLA) with the measurable and defined targets for better service quality. The services are regularly monitored to ensure that they meet the desired expectation.
It also ensures that all the Operational Level Agreements (OLA) and supporting contracts are appropriate.
Capacity Management:
It ensures that the IT organization is capable enough to deliver the service as per the agreed service level in cost-effective and timely manner. This involves thorough analysis of the business to identify what service is required and how an IT structure can support these services at acceptable cost.
Processes that contribute to Capacity management:
       • Technology
       • Business plans
       • Requirements
       • Incidents
Effective capacity management entails understanding both the organization and the business for introducing any new IT service.  It aims at avoiding unnecessary investments in technology that do not meet the business needs.
Availability Management:
It ensures that the IT services are available to meet or exceed business needs. It monitors the processes, roles and tools that are appropriate to meet the target.
The main objective of Availability management is :
       • To govern the availability requirement in collaboration with customers
       • To guarantee and monitor the available services
       • To offer any change in the available IT service for improvement
IT Service Continuity Management (ITSCM):
It focuses on supporting the continuity of the business. The service provider should ensure that the services are delivered as per agreed timelines in a cost effective manner. The ITSCM lifecycle process is divided into four stages:
       1. Initiation 
       2. Requirements & Strategy
       3. Implementation
       4. Ongoing Operation
Regular internal reviews and audits are carried out to ensure that the ITSCM process meets the business requirements.
Information Security Management:
To effectively manage the Information security, Information Security management ensures that the IT security is aligned with business security. It performs the activities that are part of IT governance. It protects and secures the data, databases and all IT related information. Information is the critical resource of any IT organization which is supported by:
       • Confidentiality
       • Integrity 
       • Availability 
Supplier Management:
The main objective of Supplier Management is to ensure that all the dealers/suppliers adhere to the terms and policy mentioned in the contracts.  Suppliers are the key contributors towards the delivery of an IT service.


Author : Deepti Masand

Click Here for ITIL Course

About Author
Deepti Masand