Premium Resources

7-Step Improvement Process

For any service provider, continual service improvement acts in tandem with all the other life-cycle stages. It is advisable that all processes, activities, roles, services and technology should be measured and subjected to continual improvement. Apart from these, we will cover few more things in detail in CSI which are:

  • Deming Cycle – The PDCA cycle,

  • Baseline – How to baseline and why?

  • Measurements – Why do we measure?

Stages of the lifecycle work together as an integrated system to support the ultimate objective of service management for business value realization. Service Strategy focuses on defining Strategies, Policies, Resources and Constraints. Output of Service Strategy, which is Service Level Package (SLP), feeds into Service Design, focuses on designing of Solution, Architecture, Standards etc. and the output comes Service Design Packages (SDP). This (SDP) goes to Service Transition where testing, validation and knowledge transfer takes place.

Implementation of Transition Plans also happens in Service Transition and then Early Life Support (ELS) comes as an output. Service Operation runs the operational / live services and ensures targets are achieved which were designed in Service Design. This is the Value Realization phase (to thecustomers).

Continual Service Improvement (CSI) focuses on improving services in every phase and maintains CSI Register, Service Improvement Plans (SIP) etc.