Premium Resources

ITIL Five Lifecycle Publications

Each of them provides part of the guidance necessary for an integrated approach as required by the ISO/IEC 20000 standard specification.

Here are the five publications:

  • ITIL Service Strategy
  • ITIL Service Design
  • ITIL Service Transition
  • ITIL Service Operation
  • ITIL Continual Service Improvement

Each one of these addresses capabilities which have a direct impact on a service providers performance. Further, in the course, we will understand these more closely. The purpose of the service strategy stage of the service life-cycle” is to define the perspective, position, plans and patterns that a service provider needs to be able to execute to meet an organizations business outcomes.

The objectives of Service strategy include:

  • An understanding of what strategy is.
  • A clear identification of the definition of services and the customers who use them.
  • The ability to define how value is created and delivered.
  • Means to identify opportunities to provide services and how to exploit them.
  • A clear service provision model that articulates how services will be delivered and funded as well as to whom they will be delivered and for what purpose.

ITIL Service Strategy starts by defining and discussing the generic principles and processes of service management and these generic principles are then applied consistently to the management of IT services. This publication is intended for use by both internal and external service providers and includes guidance for organizations which are required to offer IT services as a profitable business. As well as those which are required to offer IT services to other business units within the same organization at no profit.