ITIL 2011

Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL) 2011 is the current edition of the ITIL framework that has evolved since its creation in the late 1980s through the efforts of Her Majesty’s Stationery Office (HMSO) in the United Kingdom (UK) on behalf of the Central Communications and Telecommunications Agency (CCTA). ITIL is the most widely used best practice guidance for systematically designing, developing and delivering services to businesses using IT. ITIL was developed as a response to the burgeoning costs of acquiring and managing IT infrastructure, including hardware, commercial software and applications developed in-house.
The first version of ITIL was truly a library, consisting of IT service management best practices spread across about 40 books or volumes.  Gradually, the adoption of ITIL by businesses (including IT majors like Microsoft, Hewlett-Packard, IBM and others) contributed to its popularity worldwide and led to the formation of user groups like the IT Service Management Forum (itSMF).  The popularity of ITIL stems from the fact that it is non-prescriptive and vendor-neutral, permitting its user community great flexibility to adopt and adapt the practices contained within to suit their varied business scenarios and contexts. The second version of ITIL, labelled as ITIL V2, emphasized a process-based approach to IT service management and consisted of 10 processes (5 in Service Delivery and 5 in Service Support) along with the single function of Service Desk.
ITIL underwent a major improvement initiative called ITIL Refresh that resulted in ITIL V3 being published in 2007.  ITIL V3 organized the best practices within the logical structure of service lifecycle, encompassing the five phases – Service Strategy (SS), Service Design (SD), Service Transition (ST), Service Operation (SO) and Continual Service Improvement (CSI) – as core books or publications along with an overarching, supplementary publication titled “The Official Introduction to the ITIL Service Lifecycle”.  In 2011, updated editions of the ITIL core books (not their next version) were published addressing user feedback, incorporating suggestions for greater clarity and consistency between the books


  •  Strategy Management Process
  • Service Portfolio Management Process
  • Financial Management Process
  • Demand Management Process
  • Business Relationship Management Process


SERVICE DESIGN (8 Processes)

  • Design Coordination Process
  • Service Catalogue Management Process
  • Service Level Management Process
  • Availability Management Process
  • Capacity Management Process
  • IT Service Continuity Management Process
  • Information Security Management Process
  • Supplier Management Process



  • Transition Planning and Support Process
  • Change Management Process
  • Service Asset and Configuration Management Process
  • Release and Deployment Management Process
  • Service Validation and Testing Process
  • Change Evaluation Process
  • Knowledge Management Process



  • Event Management Process
  • Request Fulfilment Process
  • Incident Management Process
  • Problem Management Process
  • Access Management Process



  • Continual Service Improvement Process



Service Desk Function

Technical Management Function

IT Operations Management Function

Application Management Function


Best practice guidance within the ITIL framework is implemented and being improved upon by its users - IT service providers, both internal and external, in various businesses and institutions across the globe.  ITIL’s continued growing popularity as the one-stop reference for IT service management practices is proof of its effectiveness and value to business.


Author : Raghu Kamath

Click Here for ITIL Course

About Author
Raghu Kamath