Premium Resources

What is ITIL?

Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL) is the world's most widely used IT Service Management framework. ITIL gives direction to an organization and people to utilize IT as a tool to encourage business change, transformation, and development. The goal is to improve efficiency and achieve predictable service levels. The objective is to enhance performance and accomplish certain service levels. The key factor for ITIL success is vendor neutrality, Best practices and easy to understand the framework. ITIL has been owned by AXELOS, a joint venture between HM Cabinet Office and Capita Plc.

ITIL lifecycle consists of 5 different stages:

● ITIL Service Strategy

● ITIL Service Design

● ITIL Service Transition

● ITIL Service Operation

● ITIL Continual Service Improvement.

ITIL framework uses Key performance indicators to measure the IT department's performance, progress, problems and also to continually improve the service.

ITIL is very flexible, scalable and versatile which makes any IT department implement these methodologies. This framework is useful to document the process, functions, and roles in IT Service Management.

ITIL can be adapted and used in conjunction with other good practices such as:

● COBIT (a framework for IT Governance and Controls)

● Six Sigma ( a quality methodology)

● TOGAF (a framework for IT architecture)

● ISO 27000 (a standard for IT security)

● ISO/IEC 20000 (a standard for IT Service Management)

Check the video to know about ITIL Fundamentals: